My (Not So) Secret Crush on Hugh Jackman’s Chest/ Jan 2011

by feyruhan
Hugh Jackman

Image by Barbara.Doduk via Flickr

I like a man who isn’t afraid of his chest hair.

Okay, so this is not the most forward (make that forward-thinking) thing I will ever say, but it’s true.  I like a man with a sprinkling of short, dark, curly, man-smelly hair on his chest.  My gal-pals and I have exchanged thoughts on this briefly, and they strongly prefer the hairless chest.  In fact, my friend C has mocked me for getting silly at the sight of chest hair peaking from an actor’s shirt (because, you know, God forbid I should acknowledge my weakness in public).

Hugh Jackman is an excellent example.  But then, he is an excellent example, period, no matter what, if anything, is the topic of discussion.

Visually, he can pull off rough and rugged (any and all of the X Men flicks, but especially X Men Origins: Wolverine, where he wears flannel–“Lesbian lingerie”, as (The Delicious) Brian Kinney of QAF puts it (oh, don’t start complaining about the merits, or lack-there-of, of those films; that’s for another, less hormone-crazed, man-hungry post, don’tcha think?)) , refined and flustered (Kate and Leopold, as the delicious Duke of Albany), and daily casual.  If you’re unsure as to which is my favorite, scroll up and re-read the first sentence.

You could say I like manly men, in general; that I like my men the way I like my coffee (… if I were to like coffee, which, as it stands, I don’t even so much as tolerate): tall, straight-up, with no sugar.  Milk or no milk, depends on my mood; I’ve been socialized to have it with milk, so that’s usually how I go, though.

But I’d like to think that I’m more, uh, evolved, than that.  I mean, I find men who straddle (mm… straddle…) androgyny attractive.  Like that guy from The Fall, but only with that heavy eye makeup and wicked-cool costume (was that a pair of hakama he was wearing?  Can you spell “hotttt”?).  Or Orlando Bloom.  There are probably people out there who would say, Any prettier and he might grow a vagina (ooh now there’s a fun thought! ^_^); but he still sets my heart all a-twitter when he’s onscreen.  And some, uh, other parts as well.

Now, it’s fair to say that one could argue my admiration of varyingly-androgynous men has something to do with my identifying as bisexual.  But that’s not really what I’m here to write about.

Hi, I’d like an order of Hugh Jackman, please; shirtless, with chest hair a-plenty, and, uh… nope, that’s it.  I’m sure we can manage just fine without any accouterments.

^_-  (That’s me winking at you, you jealous reader!)

Leave a Reply

