Interview: Alissa Jo Rindels, Part 3

by subterfusex

This is the third part of Alissa’s interview. In this segment, we discuss the larger context of her work, and how it relates to the mission of our site. We asked her questions pertaining to gender and personal artistic decisions. She answered us — as always — very honestly. As we wind down this interview, we’d like to thank Alissa once again for her participation and for the chance to talk about her amazing work.

What does “feminism” mean for you, and would you consider yourself a feminist?

Overall, I do believe in what feminism stands for. Everyone wants equal rights. I think feminism has gotten a bad rap, really; growing up the first thing I thought of when I thought of a “feminist” were the extremists who burned bras and were avid “man haters”.

I don’t like labels, so I probably would not say I’m a “feminist”. You put a label on yourself and people start thinking they know what you’re all about. I think we are all aware that woman still get the short end of the stick when it comes to employment and wage, politics, and so on. Did you know there are still jerks out there who think staying home and taking care of your kids ISN’T hard work?

Yeah, what planet did they beam down from? There are even woman out there who blast stay at home moms for not breaking out of the box and living up to their “potential”. What is that?

It takes a special kind of person not just to be a parent, but to be a GOOD parent. I take my hat off to the woman who can stay at home all day, every day with her kids and not start drinking. I love my 4 year old son to death but he is a 3 foot hurricane. Whether we work or stay home we all do the best we can. Woman do get the short end in things, I’m not denying that, but I think in this day in age, at least in the good old US, we are all free to overcome obstacles, to make our own choices and to live our lives as we choose. We’ve come so far for equal rights, but I’m sure I will get some hate mail from people who think I’m ignorant for not treating it as a nationwide epidemic. It’s always going to be a work in progress. Nothing’s perfect.

Are people ever surprised to learn that you’re a woman after seeing your art?

I think my age has been more surprising to people than my gender. Kudos to the general populous, I have never had any negative reactions regarding the fact that I’m a woman, and if they’re surprised they hide it well!
Do you see any differences between the operations and successes of male artists versus female artists? Does it differ depending on genre/market?

I don’t want to pretend that I am the best person to address this question. There are probably TONS of successful female artists out there working for all the major gaming and comic companies we are all familiar with.  I could probably think of 10 powerhouse male artists before a female comes to mind. Maybe I’m just ignorant but I think that says something right there.

Do you ever get the impression from people that this is not the sort of art you “should” be doing?

All the time! For the most part, people are very polite and at least compliment me on my skill even if they don’t care for the subject matter. However there are always a few people out there who think that I am NOT doing art first and foremost for my own enjoyment, and think that their rude comments are going to commence an intense shift in my subject matter. Yes, people have asked me if I worship the devil. Yes, they have called me a pervert for drawing “boobies”.  I’ve had my art snubbed here in the Midwest MANY times because of subject matter alone. I’ve even had people tell me to go out and get a REAL job. It’s frustrating; sometimes it’s even discouraging. But it’s not going to change anything. I’m not going to start drawing cows or fairies or quit doing art because it’s comfortable for other people. So I’m sorry if I’m offending, but not sorry enough to quit.

*

We want to thank Alissa for being such a wonderful interviewee. We’ve been granted a glimpse into the mind of a very talented artist. We wish her all the best.

You can visit Alissa, see her gallery, and purchase artwork at either DireAtrium.com or her DeviantART account. (Shop independent – support an artist!)

One Comment to “Interview: Alissa Jo Rindels, Part 3”

  1. I’m sad that this is the last part of the interview! It was such a great one and so well done! I am surprised, however, to learn that she is from the Midwest. It makes me grin with pride, though! 🙂

Leave a Reply

