My son is gay (via Nerdy Apple Bottom)

by d

I’m re-blogging this because it’s important, and it’s awesome.

This blogger, Nerdy Apple Blossom, has a son who is five years old. He wanted to be Daphne for Halloween this year. She had no problem with it, and he was initially ecstatic. It was only as the big day approached that he began to worry. She reassured him, but he still feared that he would be laughed at.

Instead of children teasing other children (which may not have had the ‘you’re gay and going to HELL!’ connotation) they were BOTH treated to a round of busybody mothers who felt it was their business to critique.

NAB’s response is wonderful. Her son is going to grow up to be a brave, confident young man, because he has witnessed his mother do that very thing. I hope he was able to enjoy the rest of the day. And I hope he got LOTS of candy.

My son is gay

My son is gay.

Or he’s not. I don’t care. He is still my son. And he is 5. And I am his mother. And if you have a problem with anything mentioned above, I don’t want to know you. I have gone back and forth on whether I wanted to post something more in-depth about my sweet boy and his choice of Halloween costume. Or more specifically, the reactions to it. I figure if I’m still irked by it a few days later, I may as well go ahead and post my thoughts. Here are th … Read More

via Nerdy Apple Bottom

One Comment to “My son is gay (via Nerdy Apple Bottom)”

  1. Thanks for posting this up! You’re right! This is important. And thank you for posting a link for more, too.

    Just because he went as Daphne doesn’t mean a damn thing. He’s 5! And so what if it does mean something? He’s a human being, he should grow up feeling accepted and loved for who he is. Those mothers need to take a breath, step back, and realize what they’re doing and saying, what they sound like. I like the way that she says that if anyone has a problem with these things that she doesn’t want to know them. That’s really the right attitude, if you ask me. It does no good to surround yourself with people who want to tear you or your own down like that.

Leave a Reply

