Complaint Hour: I Feel Like Crap.

by d
The Head Ache

Image via Wikipedia

I don’t know what my body thinks it’s about these days. I’ve been in a world of misery since Thursday, when the migraine began. It has lurked just out of focus, threatening to rear forth. The migraine itself isn’t terribly unusual, I often get one in conjunction with my period. What is unusual, nay, damning, is the way it is hovering for days on end. That alone makes me feel like shit.

I began to feel that I might have a sore throat coming on around the same time. Then one of the people in the office where I temp got a diagnosis of strep throat, so I have spent this weekend keeping a close watch on my symptoms. Sore throat, odd temperature (I NEVER get a fever, but I am getting heat waves), intermittant cough and post nasal drip, general ickiness, etc. By now I know it’s not strep, but whatever it is isn’t going away, either.

As I’ve complained before, I’ve been getting some really wretched cramps the last few months. Yet this month, nothing. Then again, I’m so hopped up on pain meds, trying in vain to combat my migraine, that I could probably stub my toe and not notice.

For all that I feel like shit, I have to remind myself that I’m lucky. This doesn’t happen to me every month, this migraine. And it usually only impacts a total of three days. This is way worse. Today is day five. The medications only push it back for a short time, then it’s back, an ever-present headache always promising to become blinding, nauseating pain.

There is nothing to be done for any of this. Whatever bug I’ve got is viral, I have to ride it out. The migraine is related to the hormones, which will pass in a few more days. In the meantime, I’m frittering away the hours while work piles up. I can’t think. I can’t even bring myself to write a simple email.

I just plain feel like shit.

5 Comments to “Complaint Hour: I Feel Like Crap.”

  1. I know what that’s like. When I get strep throat it comes with all the things you describe, but also with terrible tremors in my legs (no idea why) that are so bad and uncontrollable I can’t walk while I’ve got them. I never JUST get a terribly sore throat and fever. It always comes with a slew of other things. I’ve had trouble with strep throat ever since I was a child. I should’ve had my tonsils out, but I should have. I was just too much of a wuss. -_-;

    I’m glad that what you haven’t isn’t strep, though. It can actually be pretty dangerous if you don’t get strep treated. o.O; Evil shit. ><;;

    But, I hope that you feel better soon. It's never good to feel so out of sorts, in pain, and generally unwell. Of course, I guess that's the point, but still. It sucks, no matter what. I hope that are able to get well soon. Maybe you're in luck and it will only be another day or so before you've finished riding this thing out. Good luck, D! *HUG*

  2. I can help with the migraine. I am able to cure headaches with accu pressure and you can too. Have someone feel for the base of your skull at the back of your neck. There are two protrusions which point down from your skull. Have someone with their thumb and middle finger feel for the slight v shaped indentations at the base of these points put direct firm pressure and hold it for about 30 to 60 seconds and no more headache. It works for me every time.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

  3. http://www.shockfamily.net/skeleton/SKBACK.HTML Here is a diagram of the back of the skull and note the v shaped indentation at the very bottom of the skull. Firm pressure on these two points will cure your headache.

    Blessings on you and yours
    John Wilder

    • Not sure if I found the right places to press, but pressure definitely helped in the short term, and the headache seems to have subsided. Thanks for the suggestion! I’ll see if I can’t perfect it over time. 🙂

  4. I hope you’re feeling less gurmy today.

Leave a Reply

