Dog Days Are Gone

by f

I feel awful that this song by Florence and the Machine, Dog Days are Gone has been co-opted by the Eat Pray Love cabal. My hatred for Eat Pray Love is a pretty open secret, but somehow I can’t get the Florence and the Machine song out of my head.

These are the lyrics:

Happiness, it hurt like a train on a track
Coming towards her, stuck still no turning back
She hid around corners and she hid under beds
She killed it with kisses and from it she fled
With every bubble she sank with a drink
and washed it away down the kitchen sink

The dog days are over
The dog days are done
The horses are coming so you better run

Run fast for your mother run fast for your father
Run for your children and your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your loving behind you
Cant carry it with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
the dog days are done
Cant you hear the horses
Cuz here they come

And I never wanted anything from you
Except everything you had
and what was left after that too. oh.

Happiness it hurt like a bullet in the mind
Stuck them up drainpipes
by someone who should know better than that

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
can you hear the horses
Cuz here they come

Run fast for your mother and fast for your father
Run for your children for your sisters and brothers
Leave all your love and your loving behind you
Cant carry it with you if you want to survive

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
Can you hear the horses because here they come

The dog days are over
The dog days are gone
Can you hear the horses because here they come

These are pretty dog days for me, to be honest. Still stuck in the doldrums — physically, emotionally, creatively. W’s leaving me for a city six hours away. I’m writing a few home truths to a friend who has upset me deeply over the past six months. I am still living at home, with my parents.

Though I have some work, every day is uncertain until the money comes through. And until then, I see no out. So yes. Dog days for me.

But there’s always that possibility that I will break free. Go to Ithaca. Start a new life there. I am applying for jobs there as fast as I can. There aren’t many openings, but there is some opportunity. I’m hoping this letter will let my friend know exactly what I think.

Sometimes it’s just time to leave one’s love behind and run forward. I’m not sure when that time will be — or when I’ll finally break. But I know it will happen, and that’s enough.

4 Comments to “Dog Days Are Gone”

  1. I’m not sure what I think about a phrase like ‘leaving all your loving behind you.’ Isn’t the point to love? What do we have if we don’t have love to sustain us?

    Distance does not negate love, it only tests it.

    • I don’t think that that’s what she means by “leaving behind your love”. By that, I think she means that love can sometimes get in the way of leaving — attachment, etc.

      Sometimes you have to let go of your attachments (to family, places, etc) to do what is right for yourself.

  2. I agree with D. But, I wish you luck and give you my support in any decision you make about this. 🙂 However, I do want to say that the phrase, “absence makes the heart grow fonder” is not just an old, trite saying. It is true. However, moving to Ithaca to be with W is not a bad idea, if you have a job you can sustain yourself while you’re there and share the load with him. 🙂 Good luck.

Leave a Reply

